These ornaments are hanging on my tree right next to one another and they both have significance. The one on the left Grandma's Ornaments for Kakie Fitzsimmonswas painted in November by my son as a way to create a memory, celebrate new beginnings, life and family. He did a beautiful job.

The ornament on the right was painted by my grandmother, Dode Jandric, in 1992. It was a tradition she created that has left a great legacy. For a number of years, she painted and fired one for each of her 22 grandchildren and countless great-grandchildren. On the back of this ornament she hand-painted a biblical quote from Isaiah 66:12 that reads:

Now towards her I will send flowing peace like a river” and on the bottom; “Merry Christmas Kakie” along with her name and the year.

As a fifth-generation oldest daughter, I now realize the significance of a biblical quote, which refers to “from her” in this scripture. I’m confident it was with intention.

This year she passed away at the age of 92. Both my son and I had the honor of spending mothers day with her, knowing it was our last. It was meaningful time well spent and a blessing words can’t begin to describe.

Here is wishing you a wonderful holiday and a year filled with new beginnings. Family and good friends are priceless. Life is a gift, may yours be bursting with gratitude and love.

Thanks for visiting my blog, keep coming back and feel free to comment below.