No Justice. In the End, its “Just Us.” Remembering #PhilandoCastile One Year Later Post #1 of 4


….“equal rights, fair play, justice, are all like the air: we all have it, or none of us has it. That is the truth of it.”   -Maya Angelou

A year ago my friend, Alberto Monserrate, was continuously posting a video that I could not ignore. She called him ‘Sir’‘ while her man, Philando Castile, was right there groaning and literally taking his last breaths. She could not console him, nor could she explain what was happening to her four year old daughter in the back seat. Even I could not process what I was seeing. right away. But I do remember how it felt and the questions spinning in my head.

  • How could this happen?
  • Why wasn’t someone coming to help?
  • Why was he pointing the gun in her direction?
  • Where was the compassion for this couple and their child?

He fired seven times. SEVEN. Where was the humanity that we assume should appear in a situation like this? No one was coming to his aid and I still can’t grasp it. I have written blog posts about unjust violence in the past. But this time, it happened close to  home, in my city and presented a view that directly has impact on me and my family in ways I can’t even begin to explain.  

BlackLivesMatterPhilandoCastile

To honor the memory of Philando Castile, my next few blog posts will have pictures I took during the two weeks following his death, where many came together to bridge the injustice that could not be ignored or understood. . People were called to action and realized that we have to step up because in the end, where there is no justice, there is ‘just us,” people coming together for a greater good, one person at a time. Imagine all of the possibilities if we each did a few things to contribute to making a difference. No matter how big or small, it’s up to each person. That is how we build communities. We can’t do it alone and we can’t forget that as we continue to lift his family and others like his, up in prayer.

Thank you for visiting my blog, please feel free to leave a comment below, or, if you prefer to ask some questions confidentially, let me know and I will be happy to respect your privacy and respond one to one.

About KakieF
To learn more about Kakie Fitzsimmons, please select "A NOTE FROM KAKIE" tab at the top left of this page. Thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

