A Vibrant Picture – Weekly Photo Challenge


Today over at The Daily Post, Jen H asks us to share a photo of something vibrant as part of the Weekly Photo Challenge. Here, I show my interpretation of “before” and “after.”

A Vibrant Picture - Before

A Vibrant Picture – Before

A few years back on a whim, I purchased Photoshop because I was curious and wanted to see how I could get creative with it and what I could learn, so I began the process of exploring. One of the things I like best about it is I can take an image I am not crazy about and turn it into art.

I took this picture a few years ago at the Orchid Gardens in Singapore. It was extremely hot that day and as a result, orchids in some of the photos appear more wilted than I would have liked. In this picture, I used the impressionist brush tool to blur out the people in the upper left-hand corner and over to the right where we could see the sidewalk through the greenery. Next, in the filter gallery, I used the brush strokes and the cross hatch option to give it this look.Vibrant_edited-1

  • Stroke length =  12
  • Sharpness = 3
  • Strength =1

That is it. No sharpening or highlighting. I like it. It is definitely something that could be blown up and put on a wall. What do you think? Please share below and thanks for visiting my blog.

 

About KakieF
To learn more about Kakie Fitzsimmons, please select "A NOTE FROM KAKIE" tab at the top left of this page. Thanks for visiting my blog!

3 Responses to A Vibrant Picture – Weekly Photo Challenge

  1. I think it’s lovely!

  2. Pingback: Vibrant Sunrise | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

