A Journey With No Direction


  

A nomadic lifestyle is one of wandering around from one place to another with no sense of direction and no fixed pattern of Nomad, a journey with no destinationmovement.

When I saw today’s Daily Prompt, the question posed was; “If you could live a nomadic life, would you? Where would you go? How would you decide? What would life be like without a “home base”?.

It seems like an easy question at first glance. An intriguing idea because I have a natural curiosity about possibilities in the world. I love to travel, explore different cultures, learn how people use resources and spend their days.

If I lived a nomadic lifestyle, there is humorous irony in the fact that I can’t really say where I would go, or how,  because, isn’t that the point of being a nomad?

But that doesn’t mean I can’t IMAGINE what it might look like…..  I would be a wandering soul, trusting the next destination would unveil itself at the right time and that I would get everything I need. The driving force would be faith as an optimistic learner seeking to do good in the world, make a difference, touch lives. That would be my legacy. Sounds great doesn’t it?

I have seen the saying; “Everywhere you go there you are,” play out in the lives of people I know. I suspect being a vagabond would change the meaning of community and home.  It is easy to IMAGINE a romanticized life different from what we have. But doesn’t dealing with issues faced by other people mean limited connections or ties with anything or anyone? Wouldn’t it involve observing a community, but not fully being part of one?

I think it is all in how we choose to frame it because what works for one might not be right for another. We have relied on others to get to where we are today and there is something to be said for that. I like the idea of home, community and being part of something larger than myself. I’m grateful for that.

How about you? Please share how you might answer or what you think about the questions above. Thanks for visiting!

 

About KakieF
To learn more about Kakie Fitzsimmons, please select "A NOTE FROM KAKIE" tab at the top left of this page. Thanks for visiting my blog!

One Response to A Journey With No Direction

Leave a Reply

