The Universe as a Subtle Teacher |The Daily Prompt


Magestic SnowWhen my son was just 3 years old I recall pulling into the driveway after a full day at the office. It was early April and there was a fresh, light dusting of snow. The air was crisp and the neighborhood quiet. Often, getting out of the car after a long day at work was a chore because my mind would be whirling, as I processed the events of the day.

I unbuckled my little guy from his car seat, pulled him out of the car, grabbed my purse, his diaper bag, my laptop case, etc. and headed towards the door. I was in “full speed ahead” mode, focusing on the tasks at hand, thinking we needed to hurry. I had to fix dinner, do laundry, get him in the tub, prepare for the next morning, read a children’s storybook  and in the blink of an eye, it would be time for bed.

As I walked up to the house I was stomping in the fresh snow and he was following not far behind. I got to the door, turned around and said; “Come on little man, let’s get in.” What I saw caused me to take pause for a second.

There he was, his little self concentrating on the ground, stepping his tiny boots into my big footsteps of the fresh snow. For a moment it brought me back to my own childhood and I was reminded how quickly the time flies, that the universe is so big and is a subtle teacher.  I calmly waited,  and it was a wonderful feeling that put a smile on my face.

As we work to navigate the world and teach our children about faith, family and staying on the right path, one would think that we teach and they learn. But little moments like that of those footsteps, remind us that the most valuable asset we have is time and we become the student. They teach us that how we use that time, is up to us.

Later that night I picked up one of my meditation books and the quote at the beginning of the entry read:

The journey is bigger than we are no matter where we are in our search to know God.” –Earnie Larsen

Wow.

___________________________________

This post was inspired by the Daily Prompt Topic; “Tell us a moment or an incident that you treasure  – not necessarily because it brought you happiness, but because it taught you something about yourself. Photographers, artists, poets: show us LEARNING.

About KakieF
To learn more about Kakie Fitzsimmons, please select "A NOTE FROM KAKIE" tab at the top left of this page. Thanks for visiting my blog!

One Response to The Universe as a Subtle Teacher |The Daily Prompt

  1. Pingback: ONE HOT MESS | hastywords

Leave a Reply

