Day 16: Your Neighborhood – Ten Second Leadership


21 days to happiness: My story and 3 things I am thankful for:

When I was a kid, I was mesmerized by Mr. Rogers because he was stability during a time there was confusion in my house which no one talked about because they didn’t know how. They loved us and wanted to protect our little souls. But with Mr. Rogers, there was understanding and hope that came with the numerous times we would hear him say; “I like you just the way you are.”

Mr. Rogers said we leave a little of our selves with every single person we meet. The ability to keep this idea top of mind takes true, authentic leadership and those of you who know me have heard me say that I believe when people make a difference in our lives, tell them. Can you imagine the humanity that would come in a world of individuals who remember to let each person know they count?

 I can, because I am here to tell you today you matter and to thank you for stopping by to join the conversation.

What about you?  Your thoughts count. This is an open forum,
please leave your comments below.
This post was inspired after watching the documentary called:

Mr Rogers and Me. PLEASE watch the trailer below. I ordered it OnDemand and the reflection that came as a result was moving and profound. If you buy it and watch it, I bet you can’t do it without a few tears to the eyes.

Three things I am grateful for:

  1. My community of family, friends, educators, mentors, medical professionals, leaders, coworkers, cohort, Benjamin Wagner and of course, Fred Rogers. 🙂 All of whom nurtured me into being.
  2. Every single person I have met who has chosen compassion over judgement
  3. My ability to pay it forward
And of course, thanks to Benjamin Wagner for his brilliant talent
About KakieF
To learn more about Kakie Fitzsimmons, please select "A NOTE FROM KAKIE" tab at the top left of this page. Thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

