Affirmations: Kids, Empowerment and Healthy Families


By Kakie Fitzsimmons

When I was a young girl, my mother gave us the gift of affirmations. We taped them to the bathroom mirror and our bedrooms so we could recite them before we went to sleep. It was a great topic of conversation. Recently I pulled some of my own together and allowed history to repeat itself. It”s funny how sometimes we do something with the intent of helping others and we realize it helps us as well and everyone wins. We are enjoying the discussions in our household about what our affirmations mean to us and why we think they are important.

Affirmations are used by parents and educators to enrich the emotional and social development of kids, which is a key ingredient for their success in school and later on in life. It is also an amazing tool that teaches them about empowerment, setting goals, the power of positive self talk all of which can lead to confidence and healthy living.
When my friend and business partner JoAnne and I began our journey of Growing Kids Through Diverse Learning Experiences®, our vision was that kids and families work together to get healthy and active mentally, emotionally, spiritually and physically. It’s the whole reason we started creating our award winning children’s books and products.  We have great messages to share and hope they are making a difference in your homes.
Below are the affirmations that work for our family. Hopefully you can find some that are a great fit for you!
  • I believe in myself and my abilities
  • I have a positive attitude, optimism helps me discover the bright side of life.
  • God has given me talents that make me the best I can be and it’s up to me to use them to the best of my ability.
  • When my spaces are organized, my mind is organized.
  • I have a cheerful heart and share that with others.
  • Mom and I are a good team, helping each other makes things easier for both of us.
  • I say positive things about myself to myself.
  • I am a confident young man who makes friends easily.
  • My gifts are: creativity, being kind, looking at the bright side of life and being helpful.

Please share your thoughts about affirmations below, I would love to hear from you!

About KakieF
To learn more about Kakie Fitzsimmons, please select "A NOTE FROM KAKIE" tab at the top left of this page. Thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

