My Recap: 2010 Minnesota Bloggers Conference


So you see a picture of two dolls on my social media blog and think, “Who are they and why is their picture posted on Kakie’s site?” I’d like to formally introduce you to Anna and Bur Bur, two of the multiracial kids featured in my award-winning children’s books, Bur Bur and Friends.

Many of you may not know that I am an award-winning blogger. My other blog for the children’s books I have written was the recipient of a Nickelodeon Parent Picks award. Anna and Bur Bur are based off of real kids and for the past few months I have been bringing them with me to all of the social media events. I have found they inspire me and are a reminder of why I started blogging in the first place. Kids and literacy, I am passionate about them both.

This past weekend I attended the Minnesota Bloggers Conference hosted by Missy Berggren, also known as The Marketing Mama, Arik Hansen from Communication Conversations, Katie Shoop from Katie in Minneapolis and Suzi Magill from Pink Vanilla Cupcakes all of whom who did an amazing job at organizing and promoting the event.

The sessions I attended included:

  • How bloggers can generate revenue from advertising – Christina Brown, Allison Olfelt and Carrie Rocha
  • Blogging for Business: Making Connections & Building Buzz – Kevin Hunt, Adam Singer, Jamie Guse and Adam Singer
  • The business of blogging: legal side of trademarks, copyright, marketing and more – Kara Jensen Zitnick, Attorney with Sallisha Armour
  • Ins and outs of blog SEO – Adam Singer, TopRank Marketing

.

Joel Carlson made the event more memorable by taking pictures and posting them. The Uptake, the site for Video Citizen Journalism for Minnesota posted some videos from various break out sessions. My friend David Erickson posted tweets from the conference using the hashtag #mnblogconf which was a nice summary the conversation. He also interviewed me via video. I also saw friends like Greg Swan, Phil Wilson, Al Maruggi, Rick Mahn, Steve Borsch, Ian Schwartz and so many more. I also formed some new relationships which I am looking forward to.

.

The high point of the day for me was listening to Matt Logelin’s presentation “How My Blog Helped Save My Ass.” If you don’t know Matt’s story you should. He began blogging while his wife was in the hospital as a way to keep his family updated because she was on bed rest for three weeks. Sadly, she died the day after their daughter, Madeline was born. Matt shared how blogging helped him heal and connected him to some amazing people who at times carried him through his journey.

.

It was a great way to end the day and a reminder that though we blog about business or family, etc. as a creative outlet, at the end of the day it is all really about connecting. Forming relationships, having something compelling to say. That is what I love the most about our social media community here in Minneapolis.

About KakieF
To learn more about Kakie Fitzsimmons, please select "A NOTE FROM KAKIE" tab at the top left of this page. Thanks for visiting my blog!

2 Responses to My Recap: 2010 Minnesota Bloggers Conference

  1. Missy says:

    Kakie – great to finally meet you in person at the conference! Loved your post and the links to all the great folks who contributed online or in person. I also agree that Matt’s session was a powerful way to end the day. Hope to see you again soon! Missy

  2. kakieswrite says:

    Thanks Missy, it was great to meet you too! Best to you!

Leave a Reply

