Strengthsfinder Profile: Are We Leading From Our Strengths?


I have read “Now Discover Your Strengths” by Markus Buckingham and found it compelling. In the book, Buckingham argues that we spend too much time in corporate america trying to improve on our “weaknesses” or, as others might say, “opportunities”.  His theory, is that if we know our strengths and build on them to be even better, we will be more successful. I agree.

Authors and researchers at the Gallup Organization, analyzed results of interviews conducted by Gallup of over 1.7 million employees from 101 companies and representing 63 countries. When asked, only 20 percent of these employees stated that they were using their strengths everyday.  Readers of this book are given access to a Strength Finder Profile so they can learn the areas where they shine. Below were the results from mine:

1. LEARNER – People strong in the Learner theme have a great desire to learn and want to continuously improve. In particular, the process of learning, rather than the outcome, excites them.

2. FOCUS– People strong in the Focus theme can take a direction, follow through, and make the corrections necessary to stay on track. They prioritize, then act.

3. ACTIVATOR – People strong in the Activator theme can make things happen by turning thoughts into action. They can be impatient.

4. COMMAND– People strong in the Command theme have presence. They can take control of a situation and make decisions.

5. INPUT – People strong in the Input theme have a craving to know more. Often they like to collect and archive all kinds of information.

Click here to see The  34 StrengthFinder glossary themes

Please share your thoughts below!

More about Kakie Fitzsimmons

About KakieF
To learn more about Kakie Fitzsimmons, please select "A NOTE FROM KAKIE" tab at the top left of this page. Thanks for visiting my blog!

3 Responses to Strengthsfinder Profile: Are We Leading From Our Strengths?

  1. Mel says:

    Totally agree Kakie. I think I used a lot of my strengths in the corporate world. I’m not sure I am focusing on them as well now that I own my own business. Something I need to rectify. Great posting!

  2. kakieswrite says:

    Thanks for your response Mel. Having been in the trenches working side by side with you, I know you used alot of your strengths and did so very well. It’s no secret that I admired your work.

    Sometimes we need a little push to get back to basics. Especially when it comes to those things we already know but need to hear again from a voice other than our own. I posted this because my friend Janelle posted hers on Facebook and I thought to myself I ought to revisit that. So much props to her.

  3. Janelle says:

    I’m glad you took this discussion a step further, Kakie! How many of us have been frustrated over the years, and not realized that it’s because we constantly are working on our weaknesses? I read the book – and took the quiz – 5 years ago, and have found it to be helpful for myself and my teams.
    In fact, after taking the quiz and reading the book one team member shared that something he had always viewed as a weakness came back as a strength. We put that to work in his personal and career plans, and today he’s the happiest he’s been in terms of job fit and satisfaction.

    As you know from my recent posts on FB I’ve been digging out things I’ve done like the “Strengths” – your “Communication in a Changing World” is a great forum for this kind of discussion about tools that help us adapt and succeed!

Leave a Reply

