Strategically Marketing My Brand – Me


Looking for employment is so very different today than it was just a couple of years ago and I like to think of my job search as a marketing campaign. Simply putting a resume out on a job board on the internet isn’t enough, I have to be more. Marketing is a strategy that translates how consumers will view my image and brand. My prospective clients are hiring leaders at targeted companies and it is my job to get in front of them for informational interviews.  I have had people ask me, “How do you do that?” My first contact depends on how I received the referral. If the first point of communication is email it might look something like this:

Dear John,

Recently I was having coffee with JoAnne and she thought it would make sense if we could connect. I am currently in transition and am seeking a  senior management job in marketing. I would like to schedule some time to get together with you, specifically to accomplish three things:

1. Learn about your company and department, its direction and culture.
2. Advice from you about whether my skills and talents might fit somewhere in the organization and
3. Any information or advice you may have for me about my search.

I would appreciate if you would let me know the best way to get some time scheduled. If I don’t hear from you by the end of next week, I will follow up and call you. I appreciate any help and insight you could provide.

Best regards,

By using this approach, I am not assuming they have a job this moment and at times I have had to explain that. There is power in getting a face with a name and sharing backgrounds with eachother. I want to know about the direction and culture of the company. I want to understand its structure, how people interact, etc. 

This approach has been successful for me. Many times the person I was referred to can think of someone else they think I should meet. I keep track of those I have had meeting with in a contact management system. My next post will go a more in depth at that. 

 Please respond below and tell me what are some successful strategies you know about in job search campaigns.
About KakieF
To learn more about Kakie Fitzsimmons, please select "A NOTE FROM KAKIE" tab at the top left of this page. Thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

