How did I end up here?


In the face of uncertainty, I do my best to begin from a place of gratitude. As I began setting up this blog I found myself thinking, “How in the world did I end up here?”  It’s because of the one thing in life that is constant. Change. For many years I worked in roles that included marketing, communications, program management, project management, training and leadership development in the financial services industry. I learned the value of getting the right message, to the right people, at the right time, through the right medium. I am grateful for the many gifts those experiences gave, the lessons it has taught and the lessons it continues to teach me.

In corporate america, I faced something not that much different than most. My position was eliminated due to a restructure. Over the past year, I have been trying to figure out what is next. What I am supposed to be learning?  What direction should I take? Do me a favor, if you get the memo, be sure to send it to me.

I graduated college with a BA with a double major in business management and communications from The University of St. Thomas. Recently, I found myself back at school where I received my mini-masters in Project Management which is recognized by the Project Management Institute.  I think it is so interesting that for over 15 years of my career I worked on and led so many projects, yet wound up getting a degree in PM. I am better for having it.

These days, it can be so easy for us to take communication for granted. In these troubled economic times we are seeing explosion of social networks like Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn. It is changing the way we talk to one another, the way we interact with business and how corporate america is sending their brand messaging. My career is a tool box and with each new beginning, I find and create tools to add to that box. Here is where I will share information about those tools and lessons I have learned. Thanks for coming with me on this journey. I look forward to staying connected.

About KakieF
To learn more about Kakie Fitzsimmons, please select "A NOTE FROM KAKIE" tab at the top left of this page. Thanks for visiting my blog!

2 Responses to How did I end up here?

  1. Hi Kakie,

    I have found it is important to be a chameleon, or as I call it a Duck of All Trades, in these changing times. Flexibility has been the key to any success I have had as a self employed work from home father.

    One of my week points though has always been my social skills, especially with the explosion of social media. A few weeks ago I wouldn’t even know what Twitter was. If somepne asked me if I tweeted I would have replied “only after eating chili beans.” Or “No, but my Beetle makes a tweet sound.” I have been dragged kicking and screaming into the social networking world but have found it is a necessity in this industry. I look forward to reading what info you have to provide the world and hopefully it can act as a light for this socially awkward person.

    Thanks,
    Jeff
    http://www.jeffduckworth.com

    • kakieswrite says:

      Hi Jeff, thanks for your response. I can’t begin to count the number of conversations I have had with people about the kicking and screaming to come inside the social media door. You are exactly right, we need to have open minds about all of the different ways we communicate with eachother. I appreciate you reading my post and commenting. I hope we can learn from eachother. Peace and blessings!

Leave a Reply

