Kakie's Corner

◆ Connection ◆ Sharing Knowledge ◆ Thought Leadership

Day 3: Rewiring Our Brains: The Power of Affirmations

Posted by KakieF on February 5, 2012


21 days to happiness: My story and 3 things I am thankful for. 

What we learn, we practice. What we practice, we become. What we become, has consequences”                                                                         -Earnie Larsen

Believe it or not, consequences can be good! A while back I wrote a post about it called “Affirmations: Kids, Empowerment and Healthy Families,” because we used affirmations at home when I was a child. I believe those declarations played a role in giving me my optimism and helped me persevere when times got tough. I have unwavering faith that when we put positive energy out, it returns to us in ways we never imagined.

I recently read The Mind Map Book: How to use Radiant Thinking to Maximize your Potential and discovered the concept of synaptic learning, a process in the brain that literally rewires how we think by transferring activity from one cell to the other. Regular use of affirmations reinforces chemical pathways in the brain, making linkages between two neurons stronger. There is a saying “Neurons that fire together, wire together,” which is a great way to illustrate the point.

It takes 21 days to form a new habit. There is  proof that affirmations done right, work. In order for an affirmation to be effective, they should be stated in the present tense, express a positive statement or new truth, and be short. A couple of examples below could include:  

  • There is a great leader within me today and it is reflected in everything I do
  • Today, I take charge of my life, I am valuable and stand firmly in my belief in myself
  • People are drawn to my authenticity, positive attitude, work ethic and leadership style
  • Doors of opportunity and abundance are opening for me every day
  • I accept feedback with humility, gratitude and as opportunities to learn and grow

Three things I am grateful for today:

  1. There is power in choices and I make ones that affect my life positively
  2. My faith, because it has taught me that compassion over judgement is a reflection of who I am
  3. My commitment to life long learning, personal growth and healing for myself and others
Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.