Day 2: A Breath of Fresh Air, and Life


21 days to happiness: My story and 3 things I am thankful for. 

Take a deep breath,” my father would say when I was little and either over excited or sad. It can be a great coping mechanism and sometimes all we need to do is take a step back and do just that. Take a deep breath. Getting the right amounts of oxygen increases our alertness, memory and judgement. According to research, breathing and meditation is an energizer and stress management tool.

In birthing classes, they encourage women to have a focal point during labor and the first time I went through one of these classes was when my cousin was pregnant. I remember her telling me she didn’t think she would need anything to concentrate on and in the back of my mind I found one for her, “just in case.” I would have her focus on the baby’s heartbeat and it worked. With each inward breath through the nose, Naomi’s oxygen level and heart beat would increase. The result? Life. Nearly seventeen years later, that little baby has blossomed into a beautiful young woman.

3 things I am grateful for:

  1. That I can take a deep breath and know it will energize, revitalize and nourish me
  2. The privilege and ability to be present for the family and friends in my life
  3. The GIFT of life
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,951 other followers