Advanced Screening Movie Review: “The Social Network” Based off of Mark Zuckerberg and The Story Behind Facebook


I was recently invited to see the advance screening of  The Social Network, a movie based off of Mark Zuckerberg’s journey to becoming the worlds youngest billionaire as the founder of Facebook. The movie opener is set for October 1, 2010.

Security was high and they checked our cell phones at the door. I arrived 30 minutes prior to the start and was beside myself because of the irony in waiting to see a movie about social media without being able to use it. I took it upon myself to use the time to connect with others I know from our social media community here in Minneapolis. These are some of the people who always make an experience better for me. Follow them on Twitter! Phil Wilson, Mykl Roventine, Ivan Nunez, Kay Loire, Paul Debettingnies and more.  Thanks to Designer of Things Mykl Roventine for suggesting we write little 140 character notes on paper and throw them at each other as a substitute for tweeting.

My response to the movie: Two thumbs up. The actor who plays the character of Mark Zuckerberg, Jesse Eisenberg, did a great job in the role. This is the story of someone who took simple everyday experiences, found a niche, followed his passion and worked hard for his success. His transparency came through in the movie and I liked the way it demonstrated Zuckerberg is flawed and like all of us has made mistakes, learned lessons and grown. Furthermore, that the way intellectual property was portrayed by the legal teams and the characters in the movie was compelling! I am sure people will refer to it as “The Facebook Movie” or “The Movie About Facebook,” But I understand why they couldn’t use the name in the film title.

This movie is about going after something that you care about, knowing who your friends are and more. I sat next to Ivan E Nunez and liked his quote: “Also, about greed, envy, disillusion, jealousy…plus, don’t you want to know how this community got started?

What do you think?

7 thoughts on “Advanced Screening Movie Review: “The Social Network” Based off of Mark Zuckerberg and The Story Behind Facebook

  1. The deepest impression The Social Network left with me is my profound gratitude to the Minneapolis St. Paul social media community for having grown up. Perhaps flyover land never went through the culture seen in this movie. Watching sections of the movie where the lawyers debated who owned what and who would shaft who to get what they wanted: I kept waiting for Michael Douglas to stroll over from Wall Street!! Thank you to the social media community in Minneapolis St. Paul for being achieving, results oriented folks who can grow without bringing out the knives. – Pollyanna Midwest aka @KayLoire @Shareology

  2. Thanks for visiting Kay! I agree with your comments about the legal battles in the movie and wonder how interesting it would be to be a fly on the wall of those real life meetings! It was great to see you there!!

  3. I lately came across your blog and have been reading along. I imagine I would leave my first comment. I dont know what to say, except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice site. I will keep visiting your site very frequently.

  4. Great blog post!

    It was much fun having you sit behind us before the movie and to laugh and joke around.

    I would agree with your post. I find myself looking at Facebook a bit differently as I log in each day. I believe the script is brilliant and is a movie that you continue to process long after you leave the theater. This is not a simple rise to billionaireism. As an entrepreneur, being a person who has passion, skills and use them every day to build my dream it was interesting to see some similarities that I think all start ups go through. There are pivotal moments in our lives and the choices we make during them have such an impact.

    As the economy struggles and “out of the box” thinking starts to rise high, I hope parts of this movie will remind people to stay true to those that are your true friends and help you along the way. I have such a gratitude to those who have help me along the way and made a point to say a special thank you to each and everyone of them after seeing this move because it did remind me how quickly poor choices can lead you in directions you truly do not want to go.

    • Thanks for the response Kimberly, I had a great time getting to know you as well! I am so grateful for your comments. That passion was what moved me because it wasn’t just about the money in this case.

      What you said about gratitude rings true for me as well. I appreciate you visiting my blog and hope you keep coming back. Best!

  5. As I watched the movie I thought that Mark Zuckerberg is only one of the young, brilliant high tech moguls that are so naive about how business works. I don’t think Zuckerberg is a bad person but he is flawed and lost sight of how important personal relationships are in his quest to build a social networking site. I love the technology but the impact on our social relationships, how we communicate, how we learn, and our growing moral ambiguity is yet to be fully understood.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,951 other followers